top of page

2022 South Jersey Sports Zone Burlington County Scholastic League Awards and Honors

Updated: Aug 9, 2022

Player of the Year: Sr. Sean Hargrow, Doane Academy.

Hargrow averaged a team-best 18.0 points per game. The senior eclipsed 1,000 career points and guided the Spartans to their first BCSL Freedom Division title in program history. Doane Academy finished 11-1 in Freedom Division play with key wins over Pemberton, Cinnaminson and Medford Tech. The Spartans split the regular season series with the Hornets. Hargrow totaled a career-high 45 points in a 95-44 win over STEMCivics on January 31 and scored 28 points in a 71-61 win over Palmyra. He tallied 25 as the Spartans cruised past Riverside, 78-56, on February 18, and also recorded a triple-double (28 points, 10 rebounds and 13 assists) in a 77-74 setback to Cross Christian (DE). Hargrow provided 20 and 22 points, respectively, in statement wins over Eastern and Pemberton, and his contributions helped Doane Academy finish with a 19-7 record. The Spartans captured the New Jersey Independent Schools Athletic Association Boys B Division title on February 24.

Coach of the Year: Bryan Warrick, Burlington City.

Filling the shoes of legendary Blue Devils coach Paul Collins wasn’t going to be an easy task.

Bryan Warrick didn’t waver.

The former Washington Bullets guard directed the Blue Devils to a 22-7 record and its third Central Jersey Group 1 title since 2019. Burlington City held off Keyport, 74-73, in the sectional final and cruised past South Jersey Group 1 champion Gloucester, 67-55, to reach the NJSIAA Group 1 state championship for the third time since 2019. The Blue Devils fell to Paterson Charter, 91-67, at Rutgers University on March 13. City won 12 out of its final 15 games and entered the state final on a six-game winning streak.

Warrick, a 1978 Burlington Township graduate, guided the Falcons’ football program to two sectional championships in 1976 and 1977 as the team’s quarterback. He was a Second Team All-South Jersey selection and garnered Division I interest as a defensive back. In 1978, he was a Second Team All-South Jersey on the hardwood and earned Most Valuable Player honors in the first-ever New Jersey Coaches Association All-Star Game at Rutgers University after scoring 22 points. Warrick continued his academic and athletic career at Saint Joseph’s University in Philadelphia. He helped the Hawks reach the Elite Eight in 1981 and was named a Mideast All-Region selection along with Hall of Fame point guard Isiah Thomas. Warrick also earned First Team NABC All District, Big 5 and All East Coast Conference honors as a senior. The Burlington City coach averaged 14.9 points per game in his final season at St. Joseph’s.

Team of the Year: Moorestown.

The Quakers concluded their season with a league-best 23-6 record and .793 winning percentage. Moorestown went 13-1 against Burlington County Scholastic League member schools including triumphs over Burlington City, Burlington Township, Pemberton, Northern Burlington, Palmyra, Rancocas Valley and Westampton Tech. The Quakers split the regular season series with the Falcons, but won an outright BCSL Liberty Division title with a 5-1 division record.

Shawn Anstey’s squad also earned signature wins over Egg Harbor Township (56-54), Paul VI (53-50) and earned the No. 1 seed in the South Jersey Group 3 playoffs. Moorestown is 131-33 since the start of the 2016-17 season and has eclipsed 20 wins in a single season five times since 2017. The Quakers went 10-5 in a COVID-shortened season in 2021.

Burlington County Scholastic League First Team

Jr. Maurice Crump, Burlington Township

Jr. Jordan Poole, Burlington Township

Jr. David Gheysens, Moorestown

Sr. Sean Hargrow, Doane Academy

Sr. Cameron Downs, Pemberton

Burlington County Scholastic League Second Team

So. Tre Powell, Medford Tech

Jr. Alfredo Adessa, Doane Academy

Sr. Jordan Dotson, Burlington Township

Sr. Anthony Johnson, Burlington Township

Sr. Amar Lane, Burlington Township

Burlington County Scholastic League Third Team

Sr. Rasheem Harris, Florence

Sr. Dejuan Hunter, Burlington City

Sr. Adam Harris, New Egypt

Sr. Isham McClain, Pemberton

Sr. Nick DiMarino, Moorestown

Burlington County Scholastic League Honorable Mentions

Fr. Noah Harvey, Cinnaminson

So. Myles Primas, Medford Tech

Jr. Kwinten Ives, Palmyra

Jr. Devin Kimmick, New Egypt

Jr. Latrell Bullock, Holy Cross Prep

Jr. Kahree Morris-Jones, Riverside

Jr. Tahijj Hunter, Westampton Tech

Jr. Christian Naylor, Northern Burlington

Jr. Jack Orendac, Rancocas Valley

Sr. Chris McCarron, Palmyra

Sr. Khalil Tucker, Riverside

Sr. Moe Airall, Moorestown

Sr. Izaiah Johnson, Burlington City

Sr. Jayson Njoga, Doane Academy

Sr. Danny Murphy, Delran

7 views0 comments


bottom of page