top of page

2022 South Jersey Sports Zone Cape-Atlantic League Awards and Honors

Player of the Year: Sr. Carlos Lopez, Egg Harbor Township.

Lopez averaged a league-best 21.7 points per game and helped the Eagles to a 23-4 record this season. The senior scored 30 or more points in a single game on five separate occasions. In a three-game stretch against St. Joseph, St. Augustine and Holy Spirit, Lopez tallied 25, 25 and 29 points, respectively. Egg Harbor Township won each of the three matchups against the Cape-Atlantic League’s top tier programs.

The 6-foot-2 point guard often utilized sharp movements to create separation and open up space for three-point field goal attempts. The four-year starter possessed a silky smooth left-handed stroke and drained 76 3-pointers. Lopez finished his scholastic career with 1,551 points and 252 3-pointers made.

“Carlos is an unbelievable player that was the key to our offense,” Egg Harbor Township coach Cameron Bell said. “His ability to shoot off the catch and off a dribble move is second to none. Carlos was a huge part of our program and showed everyone what’s possible with hard work and dedication.”

Coach of the Year: Dan Williams, Mainland.

After a bleak 8-9 start to the season, coach Dan Williams orchestrated a turnaround like no other. The Mustangs won eight out of their final 10 games and became the first No. 8 seed to win the Cape-Atlantic League Tournament. Mainland, which featured four sophomores in its starting lineup, produced a trio of upsets against Egg Harbor Township, St. Joseph and St. Augustine to capture its first conference championship in school history. Williams’ squad earned quality victories over Middle Township, Cherokee and Millville. The Mustangs rallied to the South Jersey Group 3 quarterfinals and fell to Burlington Township, 55-49.

“As a staff we were especially proud of how the guys stayed motivated and kept working hard,” Williams said. “Despite the early season setbacks, that hard work paid off in the CAL playoffs and helped the team create some great memories.”

Team of the Year: Egg Harbor Township.

The Eagles finished the campaign tied with St. Augustine for the Cape Atlantic League’s best record (23-4 overall) and highest winning percentage (.852). Egg Harbor Township cruised past the Hermits, 76-51, in their lone head-to-head matchup on February 9. Bell’s squad finished the regular season a perfect 12-0 in CAL United divisional play and defeated St. Joseph, Holy Spirit, Mainland, Hammonton, Cedar Creek and Lower Cape May two times each during the regular season. Egg Harbor Township was 15-0 against Cape-Atlantic League opponents before falling to Mainland, 50-38, in the CAL Tournament quarterfinals. The Eagles were one of three teams, and the only public school, in the Cape-Atlantic League to reach the sectional semifinals in their group. Egg Harbor Township is 37-5 in its last 42 games.

Cape-Atlantic League First Team

So. Elijah Brown, St. Augustine

So. Cohen Cook, Mainland

Sr. Anthony Colon, Egg Harbor Township

Sr. Carlos Lopez, Egg Harbor Township

Sr. Ja’son Prevard, St. Joseph

Cape-Atlantic League Second Team

So. Semaj Bethea, St. Augustine

Jr. D.J. Germann, Egg Harbor Township

Jr. Jahmir Smith, Holy Spirit

Jr. Jamil Wilkins, Holy Spirit

Sr. Arnaldo Rodriguez, St. Joseph

Cape-Atlantic League Third Team

So. Bubba McNeil, Middle Township

Sr. Isaiah Glenn, Egg Harbor Township

Sr. Yamere Diggs, Vineland

Sr. Archie Lawlor, Lower Cape May

Sr. Dylan Delvecchio, Cape May Tech

Cape-Atlantic League Honorable Mentions

Fr. Jamir McNeil, Middle Township

So. Khalon Foster, Millville

So. Tim Travagline, Mainland

So. Anthony Trombetta, Middle Township

So. Rashee Bell, Wildwood Catholic

Jr. Ky Gilliam, Holy Spirit

Jr. Jayden Llanos, Holy Spirit

Jr. Jayden Lopez, Atlantic Tech

Jr. Jay-Nelly Reyes, Egg Harbor Township

Jr. Jaden Merrill, Millville

Jr. Jabbar Barriento, Millville

Jr. Nazir Rowell, Vineland

Sr. Jabril Bowman, Bridgeton

Sr. Angel Smith, Bridgeton

Sr. John Andoloro, Hammonton

6 views0 comments


bottom of page